It’s like the very first time.

8 Feb

Tomorrow, I am meeting my boyfriend’s parents for the first time. We live in the city, they live in the country, and we’ve never had the time to coordinate a meeting in the last six months. This is a big deal to me. I have to look the part and be witty and charming and lovely and convince his parents I am good enough for their youngest son. Of course, he insists they will love me, just be myself, and the like. Yeah, right. Anyways, I have been agonizing over the right outfit for this auspicious meeting for weeks now. I wanted to put something together that complements my personality, my hair, my skin, and stays true to my style while toning it down enough that I don’t look crazy to their country sensibilities. This is what I came up with:

this is the night

I am obsessed with color blocking right now, and I think this is a great color combination. The bright, richly saturated colors are really bold and in your face, but the classic shapes make it more approachable. I brought the intensity down by sticking with black accessories. The patent belt and shoes are a nice texture to complement the satiny sheen of the skirt and make the cotton shirt feel more dressy. I don’t want to look too sexy and I definitely don’t want his mom to refer to me as “his sex kitten”, which she apparently did to his last girlfriend. Mission accomplished!

Leave a Reply

